YOUTH IN GOVERNMENT 

Who We Are

Since 1936, YMCA Youth In Government, or “YIG” for short, has given students around the country the opportunity to serve as part of a youth-run, youth-led model government process. The Florida YMCA Youth In Government program was founded in 1957, and for more than 59 years our delegates have been actively engaged with the issues that impact their families, schools, YMCAs, and communities.

 

What We Do

Build Servant Leaders

The YMCA Youth In Government program, at all levels, is designed to help delegates understand that in order to lead, you must first learn how to serve others. This practice of servant leadership guides our program.

 

Prepare Engaged Citizens

Our model government process is designed to prepare students for a life of engaged and active citizenship built on the values of civil debate, statesmanship, and research-based policy solutions.

 

Chapters and Contact Information

North Brandon: Heather Solomon heather.solomon@tampaymca.org

Northwest: Jordan Lantz Jordan.lantz@tampymca.org

Plant City: Paul Conley paul.conley@tampaymca.org

South Tampa Y/Plant High School: Anne Jeffrey anne.jeffrey@tampaymca.org

teens_youth_in_government-sm

LEADERS CLUB

The program is designed for students in grades 7 – 12 and is facilitated by a Leaders Club Advisor. It requires a commitment to attend regular club meetings, earn volunteer hours and achieve fitness goals. Leaders also participate in special activities and overnight events throughout the year. Teens will have the opportunity to meet new people, build new relationships, learn valuable skills, get involved in the community, earn volunteer hours and learn what it truly means to be a leader.

 

Leaders Club is offered at many Tampa Y locations. Contact the advisor at the family Y below:

 

Bob Sierra Family Y: Brittany.Lindsay@tampaymca.org

Campo Family Y:  Alison.Gartner@tampaymca.org

YMCA Camp Cristina: Nicole.Parihar@tampaymca.org

Central City Family Y:  Meghan.Sadowski@tampaymca.org

New Tampa Family Y: Eamonn.OSullivan@tampaymca.org

Northwest Family Y:  Marilyn.Gyselinck@tampaymca.org

North Brandon Family Y:  Ashlyn.Moore@tampaymca.org

South Tampa Family Y:  Anne.Jeffrey@tampaymca.org

teen_leader_program-sm
Additional Information